Throwback Tales: Get Witchy Wit’ It

4a8fe5c4335d5fcb69d548ec6caee0c2While I will forever love my fair amount of trash tv, I do love shows that have actual plots, meaning and legit actors that come along with it, one of those shows being American Horror Story.

Season One which debuted on FX in 2011 was good, Two there was entirely too much going on which lost me and the intial news of Season Three almost left my eyes stuck in the back of my damn head. Witches, AGAIN?!

eye roll (2)Haven’t we seen enough of those?

Each season is a different focus, a different story with most of the same cast playing off as different characters. We’ve already been to the haunted house, the mental institution and now we are headed to the bewitched streets of New Orleans.

Because I am a fan of the first season and the more I heard on casting news I knew I had to at least give the upcoming season a chance.

Season Three premiered last night and HOLY SHIT WHERE DO I START?

The cast of Sarah Paulson, Evan Peters, Taissa Farmiga, Jamie Brewer, Denis O’Hare and the QUEEN Jessica Lange all return alongside a new school of cast members Angela Bassett, Emma Roberts, Kathy Bates and Gabourey Sidibe to tell the tale of a young girl who discovers she is a witch and is sent to live at a school for young girls possessing similar gifts.

Between Lange, Bates, and Bassett, the cinematography and the soundtrack life and a HALF is already given.

Original bad bitches.

Original bad bitches.

Episode one already has me hooked and I think this will be the best season of the series thus far.

popcorn intense

With that said, the return of this show and it’s touch on witchy roots got me thinking about the time I myself thought I was a witch.

I was 13 when I first saw the movie The Craft with one of my childhood best friends.

For those of you who don’t remember The Craft (1996) followed the story of a young girl who falls in with a group of girls at her new school and bonds of being an outcast and the practice of witchcraft. As their spells become stronger, their bond is strained when it becomes clear everyone cannot handle the power of magic.

F-CTJ27351We were so enchanted by this film we came up with the brilliant idea to become witches ourselves, just like the girls in the movie–only with smaller boobs.

thecraft011Eventually got a ride to the bookstore and snuck off to find a book on witchcraft/spells in which we convinced her parents to let us get it.

tumblr_inline_moef9fAGur1qz4rgpWe read, practiced and shared the book in secret. Nothing happened unless you want to count the time I hissed at a boy in class who tried to harrass me or the time I convinced my baby brother I cured his little eye twitch problem.

One day being in a rush I left the book behind and out of its’ hiding place where my grandmother (who was raised in the swamps and grew up on tales of voodoo and magic) found it and was not impressed.PrayNeither was I once our book was thrown away and I was grounded.

cry tantrumEventually I gave it up, forgot about it, grew up and went on to other things.

blogdancing with friendsbooze in my bellyboys such jerks

10 comments

  1. No. No, I’m pleading you to stop. I’ve been replaying every trailer they’ve released with lotion and a box of tissues beside me.

    The night it releases, I can’t configure the goddamn remote to synchronize with the fucking projector my boyfriend insists on owning instead of a television. So I spent the night in bed, lying hopelessly still like that cow thing. My life is a worse horror story than American Horror story.

  2. Just found your blog and so happy I did. HILARIOUS!!! I too thought I was a witch after watching the craft. I come from haiti but do not practice voodoo or anything like that but def interested in witchcraft.. bad huh? lol. Great post!

    1. Thank you so much!! Loving yours as well and your Fashion pointers! Haha glad it was not just us, that movie was just too great. Ah gotcha, no not bad I’ve been there myself, it’s an interesting culture!

  3. so I just stumbled upon your blog and girl you are so funny!!! The gifs in this post are hysterical!! I started watching AHS this season and its getting pretty damn good!!

Leave a comment